UK Visa Tiers 24-30 | Is A Spouse Visa Included?

UK Visa Tiers

UK immigration has different UK Visa Tiers levels. These include Tier 1, Tier 2, and Tier 4, etc. These levels meet different needs. If you’re not sure about your spouse’s visa level, keep reading. We’ll talk about the tier/category of the spouse visas as well as other information you might need about the visa.

Overview Of UK Visa Tiers

The United Kingdom adopted a points-based immigration method to attract skilled workers and regulate entry based on qualifications, earnings, and language ability. This system is divided into different visa tiers to suit various purposes. Here are brief descriptions of the UK visa tiers.

Tier 1: High-Value Migrants

The Tier 1 Visa targets individuals who are considered highly skilled and can contribute significantly to the UK’s economy. This includes innovators, entrepreneurs, investors, and individuals recognised for exceptional talent in various fields such as arts, sciences, and technology. 

Tier 2: Skilled Workers

The Tier 2 Visa is aimed at skilled workers with job offers in the UK in sectors experiencing shortages or requiring specialised expertise. To come to the UK through this route, you must have a job offer from a licensed employer, meet English language requirements, and fulfil other specific conditions.

Tier 3: Unskilled Workers

Though introduced, the Tier 3 Visa categories are currently suspended. It is a category for unskilled workers to fill temporary labour shortages.

Tier 4: Adult Students

The Tier 4 Visa is designed for international students seeking a higher level of schooling in the UK. It allows students to study at the sponsoring institution and may permit part-time work, depending on the course’s level and type.

Tier 5: Temporary Workers

The Tier 5 Visa caters to temporary workers in specific sectors such as creative, charitable, religious, and youth mobility schemes. As the name suggests, it allows temporary work in the specified sector and may include allowances for dependants.

What Tier Is The Spouse Visa?

Unlike the Tiered system specifically designed to categorise different business and work-related visas, the Spouse Visa does not fall under any of these categories. This unique visa type is exclusively for individuals who are wedded to or in a recognised relationship with a British national or settled status holder in the UK. It acknowledges the significance of family unity and allows couples to reside together in the United Kingdom.

The Spouse visa holder is allowed to live, study, or work in the UK.  It is granted for a period of 2 years and 5 months with a possibility of extension for the same period of time. The visa holder may become eligible for indefinite leave to remain (ILR) to remain in the UK after five years of continuous stay.

The Tier system primarily focuses on the business, work, study, and temporary labour aspects of UK immigration, while the Spouse Visa specifically addresses the family element.

Spouse Visa UK Requirements

The requirements for a UK Spouse Visa are multifaceted, involving various aspects that must be fulfilled for a successful application. Here is a summary of the fundamental requirements:

1. Relationship Requirements

The applicant must have been legally married to a British citizen or someone with settled status in the UK for at least 2 years. There must be proof that the connection is real and ongoing. This might include communication evidence, photographs, joint financial documents, etc.

2. Financial Requirements

The financial threshold requirement for ALL family visas is now £29,000 as of April 11th, 2024. This will be followed by increases to £34,500 later in the year and then to £38,700 by early 2025. The UK government often changes this requirement. For the most up-to-date information on how to meet the new requirements, visit our page on family visa financial requirements or contact us directly.

3. Accommodation Requirements

The applicant and their spouse must have appropriate housing available in the UK. This accommodation must be a stable and consistent place of residence, and there should be enough space for the family without overcrowding.

Sometimes, an independent property inspection report may be required to confirm that the accommodation meets the statutory overcrowded standard.

4. English Language Requirements

The applicant must complete an approved English proficiency evaluation in speaking and listening at level A1 or higher (such as IELTS). Exceptions apply to nationals of certain English-speaking countries and those with a degree taught in English. Age or disability may exempt some applicants from the English language requirement.

The UK Spouse Visa

The Spouse Visa is a specific provision within the UK visa system that enables individuals to join their partner in the UK if the partner is a British citizen, holds indefinite leave to remain in the UK, or is already in the UK on a different type of visa such as the skilled worker visa. This visa is designed to facilitate family life and allow partners to stay together.

Applicants can apply from outside the UK or change to a spouse visa from within the UK. The application is submitted through a local UK visa application centre, and it may include biometric information and supporting documents.


The UK visa system can seem complex, but understanding the different tiers and their requirements can make the process more manageable. Whether you’re pursuing employment, education, or other opportunities in the UK, thorough preparation and adherence to guidelines are key to a successful visa application.

FAQs UK Visa Tiers

  1. Can I switch between visa UK Visa Tiers once I’m in the UK?
    • In some cases, it may be possible to switch between visa tiers while in the UK, but certain restrictions may apply. It’s advisable to consult with an immigration advisor for personalized guidance.
  2. Do I need to have a job offer to apply for a Tier 2 visa?
    • Yes, a job offer from a licensed sponsor is typically required for a Tier 2 visa application. The offer must meet specific criteria set by the UK government.
  3. How long can I stay in the UK on a Tier 4 student visa?
    • The duration of stay allowed on a Tier 4 student visa depends on the length of the course of study. Visa holders may be permitted to remain in the UK for the duration of their studies, with some additional time for travel.
  4. What happens if my visa application is rejected?
    • If your visa application is rejected, you may have the option to appeal the decision or reapply, depending on the circumstances. It’s essential to review the reasons for rejection and address any issues before reapplying.
  5. Can I work on a UK Visa Tiers 5 temporary worker visa?
    • Yes, individuals holding a Tier 5 temporary worker visa are typically allowed to work in the UK within the scope of their visa category. However, there may be restrictions on the type and duration of employment permitted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *